Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Moose Float Hunt - Help?

Default Moose Float Hunt - Help?

I have always dreamed of a float trip / hunt in Alaska and now at 51 its time to see if I can get it done. I would appreciate any inputs that may help steer me in the best direction. I would like safe water, decent odds, and a reputable outfitter that would supply me with good gear and location.
    I know some parts of Alaska have spread minimums - perhaps all of Alaska? Anyway I would like a chance at a decnt bull but does not have to be a monster - I have taken one small bull in Canada and called in some others so I have some knowledge of moose hunting.
    I am looking at an unguided hunt for cost savings so that is a factor for me - definetly below $4000.00 range is a must.
    Thanks for any help!
    Sincerely,
    Randy

Do a search, this has been posted countless times and you should be able to find all the info you could ever need. Good luck!

Default Suggestions

In addition to doing a search (as was suggested), I would add contacting Mike Strahan (Lost Creek) or Larry Bartlett (Pristine Ventures). Either will do a great job of setting you up.

The $4000 limit is going to be tough - especially if you include air fare. I used to think $3000 for a typical Alaskan DIY hunt but lately it has been creeping up to around $4000 and we own all our gear.

If you get stuck - send me a PM

ps. If you do something in the Fairbanks area you could contact Blue Moose (who also posts on this forum). I would also mention Walt at Northwest Alaska Adventures (I think) but going out of Kotzebue is definitely going to push you costs over you limit.

Thanks Guys - I am new to the site and appreciate the tips - tons of info here for sure...
    What, if anything special, do you guys do to help preserve your meat on a several day float trip?
    Randy