Thread: Newbie eyeing Flattop -- any pointers?

Default Newbie eyeing Flattop -- any pointers?

Hi! I'm new to the forum so bear with me...
    I've been looking at hiking Flattop for years as my parents would never go with me. I live just down the street from the mountain and its accessibility makes it unbearably tempting.

However, I have no hiking experience, and want to make sure I'm not getting in over my head. I have some questions that maybe other members could help me with:

• About how long is the trip up the mountain?
    • Is the trail dangerous for beginners?
    • What should I take with me? Would I need to buy any special equipment?
    • I'm kind of sparse on friends ... would hiking alone be a foolhardy venture? Where could I find groups to join that are hiking Flattop?
    • I know its bear country up there, would I do fine wearing bells and taking pepper spray? (I read the threads on bear protection)
    • Is this trail physically demanding? I'm in fair shape as I do some swimming, but I generally spend too much time sitting at home.

Any other suggestions will be greatly appreciated!

Flattop is a good place to start your hiking/climbing career, as it is a well-marked trail with lots of people in case anything were to go wrong. A few answers:

-Give yourself 3-4 hours round trip. That is probably more than you'll need, but there is no sense in rushing things.

-The trail is steep at points, but generally not dangerous. You could slip and bang yourself up on rocks, but there is no real danger of a serious fall. Follow the main trail and you should be fine.

-Bring plenty of water and wear decent shoes. If it's not perfectly clear, also carry a lightweight wind/waterproof jacket, as you don't want to be caught up there unprepared in a sudden wind or rainstorm.

-Hiking Flattop alone would be fine, as there are always others up there. If you want to find others going, I think the Daily News lists a hiking group in their Sunday Outdoors section.