Thread: VFR Fairbanks to Anchorage

Post VFR Fairbanks to Anchorage

Hi. I'm new to the Interior and looking for some local knowledge on the best VFR route from Fairbanks to Anchorage. The obvious answer (for any of a number of reasons) is to follow the highway; I'm just wondering if there are reasons one highway would be better or worse than the other i.e., predominant weather or turbulence in a particular area/pass, fuel availability enroute, etc. With the way fuel is lately, I can sympathize with the "shorter is better" mentality in regard to flight planning, however, given the remote nature of the geography involved, safety seems like more of an issue. I'm talking about a light plane like a Piper Pacer or Cub, Aeronca Sedan, C-170 etc. If I could cruise in the flight levels, I wouldn't bother asking the question...but who wants to be up there when there's so much to see! Thanks in advance!

I can't speak to the eastern route, other than it presents in different places the same exact issues as the ones below. All things being equal I would not detour all the way around Delta Junction and Glenallen to get south. Either way you have to fly through passes. Flying the highway is always a good thing if one is available. Seldom does more than a month go by that I don't see a plane parked in a pullout or driveway between Nanana and Talkeetna after a successful forced landing. Which is a good thing, no?

The Parks Hwy route presents (in my opinion) three things to watch out for above and beyond the usual "watch outs.":