Thread: Outboard Jetboat Operation

Default Outboard Jetboat Operation

I have been running a Wooldridge Alaskan with and outboard for the past 2 years. I run the Deshka so I am running skinny water a lot. Anyhow I hit every once in a while and even though I have the tunnel hull I still hit my foot almost every time I hit bottom. Now I am being told by a friend that I am trimming my boat wrong. I have been trying to trim it so it runs flat in the water and get more planing surface and he is telling me I should run it trimmed up to the point where the motor start to cavitate and then bump it down an inch or so. That way less of the boat is in the water and he is saying what part that is in the water it will ride higher. What is the correct way to trim it out?

This can depend on the boat, You didnt say what size wooly you have, I had a 17 foot alaskan and found it ran best w/ the foot all the way down (forward) I experimented w/ the trim while watching the GPS and found moving the foot back or up would pick up the bow some, if i went to far the boat would start to porpoise (bow up-down-up-down) you will know it when you hit that point.
    The wooly I had was a 53"bottom and being a short 17 foot seemed to like the foot down and some weight in the bow (2 -16 gallon polys of fuel)
    Now the new boat, which is a 20 foot, definetly likes some trim, (foot back) you can see it pick up 4-5 mph on the GPS and when you hit the sweet spot it will feel like some one let go of the anchor line.
    So I suspect every boat has that spot and a GPS can be forever usefull to help find it, cavitating and backing off maybe not be the best indication of that spot.
    Striking the foot on the bottom is not an indication of improper trim, mine always hit first, it was a yamaha w/ the fins on the jet and it stuck below the tunnel, so if the jet is set properly to the tunnel. It is the height of the tunnel (and they can vary) that determines how low the foot is.