Thread: Mulchatna Herd?

Default Mulchatna Herd?

Hey guys, I was hoping you could answer a few questions for me. I am a cop in Washington, and one of my buddies at work invited me to hunt caribou with him, and his best friend who is a fishing guide in Alaska next year. It sounds like we would be hunting the Mulchatna herd. I've read this herd is about 150,000 to 200,000 strong with a lot of great bulls. My friend told me he understands the herd is down to about 75,000 this last year but still thinks we have good chances at good bulls. This would be an unguided hunt, and the lodge is somewhere around brystol bay and we would fly north to the hunting grounds. I used to be a licensed taxidermist before I became a cop and would love to mount my own caribou instead of someone elses. Anyone know how this herd is doing? What the hunting is like? Hopefully this will be the first of many trips to Alaska! Once I figure out how to post pics, I will post some of my mounts.

Default Try Another Herd

Nebs,

Check the Forum archives, many posts describing the decline of the Mulchatna Herd over the past few years. In 2004 I went on an 11 day moose/bou hunt on the upper Nushagak - while we saw about 1500 caribou, we only saw 7-8 shooter bulls out of that number. Many other hunters have reported equal or worse luck.

Michael

Why do you think the Mulchatna herd is down? What would a good caribou hunt be for a non-resident first timer? I never really cared for record books or scores, just a nice specimen would put a big smile on my face. Also is it realistic to shoot ptarmagin or other critters when hunting caribou. Sorry to pester you guys, thanks

Default mulchatna

I would say go for it and hunt the mulchatna. The good thing is the herd is recieving less pressure right now than the herd in the northwest.

Default Mulchatna Caribou

Nebs,