Thread: Looking for someone to handload

Default Looking for someone to handload

Recently bought a Ruger 270Win for my grandson's upcoming 12th birthday. Looking for someone to work up some light loads to get him started. Prefer someone in the Kenai/Soldotna area. contact me at triumph@alaska.net
    Thanks

Remington now makes reduced loads in 270, as well as '06 along with a number of other calibers. Would recommend you check their web site for more info.

http://www.remington.com/products/am...ged-Recoil.asp

Default Just anybody?

I'll just say this and you can take it as you wish. I don't recommend having someone who is not a professional, licensed AND insured reloader do any loads for you, especially for your youngster. There is way too much liability and oops potential involved. I was a professional reloader in the past, had my own business and now that I'm just a John Q Citizen, I won't do it, especially for people I know. As was suggested, there are light loads commercially available.

Default Light loads for 270Win

Thanks SHPHTR and Mauserboy. What a great site we have. This is great info and I'll be buying "managed recoil ammo" Thanks guys.

Default why not start loading yourself?

it's not hard to do correctly, there's lots that has been written (probably find out all you'd want on google). just start slow & follow the directions in any reloading manuel.
    you could probably get the equipment you need for around $100 (give or take), if you don't opt for the "best".
    even the managed recoil loads are suitable for deer size game and will generate more recoil than a 100 gr bullet & a light load.