Thread: Fish Finder Advise

Default Fish Finder Advise

I'll be buying a fish finder in a couple days, and need your advise. It will be going on a 16 foot skiff, and will be getting pretty wet, here in the SE.

My main criteria:
    • Fairly cheap--couple hunderd dollar range
    • Depth to at least 800'
    • Waterproof
    • Ability to clearly see changes in botom structure
    Here's what I've come up with so far:

Huminbird 565, which is $199.99
    http://www.basspro.com/webapp/wcs/st...001000_200-1-1

or

Huminbird 525, which is $129.99
    http://www.basspro.com/webapp/wcs/st...001000_200-1-1

Don't know much about the difference, since I am new to fish finders.

Thanks for all of your help!

Where are you planning on using it? In our glacial fed salt water, most fish finders don't read nearly as deeply as they claim. If you're just looking to identify depth and detect when you are drifting over structure you'll probably be ok with the less expensive units, but for true fish finding you'll have to put out a few more $'s.

Quote Originally Posted by Paul H View Post
    Where are you planning on using it? In our glacial fed salt water, most fish finders don't read nearly as deeply as they claim. If you're just looking to identify depth and detect when you are drifting over structure you'll probably be ok with the less expensive units, but for true fish finding you'll have to put out a few more $'s.
    Thanks for the info. Yes, I'm planning on using in clacial fed salt water. Really I just need something to show a "somehwhat" accurate depth for shrimp pots, as well as bottom structure for halibut fishing.

I'm using a garmin combo gps/sounder and the sounder is good for that purpose, but I plan to dedicate to a true dedicated fish finder. You'll likely have to spend about $600-700 for a nice digital color unit, but it'll be well worth it when you figure out how much it cost each time you take the boat out and the value of the fish.