Thread: TC Encore 300 mag accuracy problem

Question TC Encore 300 mag accuracy problem

I am trying to get a good confident zero with a new 300 Win Mag barrel and am having a few problems. Here is what I did: I started off using winchester Power Point 180gr. ammo and after about 12 shots had a nice 2" group at 100 yards. Please remember this; I am new to high powered rifles so a 2" group is good for me. Feeling good about where my gun was hitting I decided to switch to a different ammo that I will be hunting with in AK next month: Winchester Supreme Elite XP3 180 grain. The first two bullets hit 6" low dead center so I adjusted the scope and dialed it in to the bulls eye. Q. Why would faster ammo of the same grain hit lower?

Three days later back at the range and shooting the XP3's again and my bullet totally missed the target for the first 3 shots before it starts hitting back close to where it was two days prior. The barrel was cleaned with Hoppes cleaner, a bronze brush, and then dry patched following each session at the range. TC Arms, Inc informed me that their barrels need to be fouled inorder to get good accuracy. I am having a hard time believing this since serving 22 years in the Army I have always believed a clean weapon is an accurate weapon.

Can someone please shed some light on the problems I am having? I have 3 weeks until my moose hunt and I do not feel warm and fuzzy about this rifle. Thanks!!

Default Fouled bore

I have run into several rifles now that wouldn't shoot well until four or five rounds had gone down the tube. And I couldn't shoot enough (2 1/2 boxes at one sitting!) to foul them to the point where it wouldn't shoot accurately anymore.

How many total rounds have you shot through it? A lot of rifles don't start to shoot until 3 or 4 boxes have been shot through them.

And remember that some rifles are finicky about the brand of ammo, weight of the bullet, and even between individual boxes of ammo.