Thread: Lake Creek mid June

Default Lake Creek mid June

Hi,

I am floating from Chelatna with 2 friends lake creek. We start June 20th. We have 7 days planned on the river for fishing and floating.

My first trip to Alaska, I have plenty of experience rafting, we are going to be in small personal pontoons, ranging form 10-12 ft long. We have done this on many rivers in the Rockies, and class 4 water is no issue for us. Sounds like only 2 major rapids, both scoutable and runnable.

What I am most curious about is the fishing. It appears we may be a bit early for the kings, but this is when we are going to be there. Personally I am looking forward to the rainbows and grayling.

Any suggestions and recommendations.

If anyone is looking for recomendations for Colorado, Wyoming and New-Mexico I am glad to lend a hand.

Thanks.

You're not early for kings although the run seems a little late this year but I am NOT an expert. I have fished fish creek that time of year and the kings have been there.

If you have significant white water experience you won't need to stop and scout any of the rapids on lake creek. They are all straight foward class III. There are no class IV rapids on this river. I've run it at very high and low levels and haven't seen anything class IV on it. You won't be disapointed by the trout and greyling on lake creek.

Default See ya there

I'll be there 21-25 Jun. I have a similar post on the fly fishing forum if you want to check it out for more info. I'll be in a green 14ft raft. Shoot me a pm if you want more info. I hope the Kings will be there too!

Sent you a PM

ClearCreek

Ok guys, thanks for the replys and pm's. Now how about some recomendations... flies in particular. We are just now getting started tying up for the trip.

We will be loading up in Anchorage too, any great shops we should visit?

Thanks,
    Greg

World Wide Angler

http://www.akflyshop.com/

Mountainview Sports

http://www.mtviewsports.com/

Sportsmans Warehouse