Thread: Halibut in Juneau. Anyone?

Default Halibut in Juneau. Anyone?

I know it's still early in the season, but there are halibut and rockfish in the Juneau area in deep water, correct? I really really want to get out this weekend and hook something, but I don't want to be wasting my time. I was eyeing the finger that juts out from Bishop Point. I'm thinking if I troll while jumping lures across the bottom out from the shallower section towards the deeper side, I should have some luck. Any thoughts. I'm new to this so anything would help.

I'd say it would be worth a try, especially if your out there anyways hoping for a king. Never caught one there, but I saw a guy last year pull a 90 pounder off of Bishop last August. I'm sure you could jig some rockfish though. Dupont can be good too.

Default Scored at Rocky Isl though

Limited out with 3 people this being the big one for the day

87 lbs1.jpg

IB1Gator: Great, well wish me luck. What time of year did you get those?

Skookumchuck: Are you saying dupont is good for Halibut? I've only heard about people catching salmon there.

Quote Originally Posted by chauvotsm View Post

Skookumchuck: Are you saying dupont is good for Halibut? I've only heard about people catching salmon there.

I've heard through the grapevine that people catch butts there...I've only caught one teeeny chicken there....I suck at halibut fishing though. I've heard that around Doty Cove can be good too.

Quote Originally Posted by Skookumchuck View Post
    I've heard through the grapevine that people catch butts there...I've only caught one teeeny chicken there....I suck at halibut fishing though. I've heard that around Doty Cove can be good too.
    Having a hard time finding Doty Cove on the map. Where is it located in reference to Juneau?

It's pretty much across Stephens Passage from the Taku. South of Pt Arden.

Good deer hunting out there too!