Thread: My first Grayling =)

Default My first Grayling =)

We made a trip up to Bonnie Lake Friday/Saturday to attempt to catch Grayling. Two of us had never caught them. Also, I am just learning how to fly fish this year so needless to say I was very excited to pull in my first Grayling on a dry fly! I had come equipped with my Penn rod cause I didn't think I would be able to fly fish the little stream, but I surprised myself! They were all small, but I didn't care =)

And of course he had to show me up by catching a much nicer fish haha

Congratulations! Even with all of the larger and harder fighting fish in our state, there are still few things I enjoy more than catching a grayling on a fly.

Enjoy eating them, but since they're your first, it's worth noting that grayling do not freeze well at all. They're good fresh, but not worth keeping in the freezer.

So I have heard, which is why we cooked them up the very same day. VERY enjoyable! It was the first Grayling I've ever caught, and it was also the first fish I've ever landed on a fly rod. I may have been haggard, tired and hungover but I was HAPPY.

Quote Originally Posted by AkCrimson View Post
    So I have heard, which is why we cooked them up the very same day. VERY enjoyable! It was the first Grayling I've ever caught, and it was also the first fish I've ever landed on a fly rod. I may have been haggard, tired and hungover but I was HAPPY.

Now go hook into a #45 king with a palm drag reel and HANG ON! That is just plain FUN as long as you can keep your fingers from getting whacked by the reel handle. Congrats on the grayling!

Congrats!

How'd you prepare the fish? Looks like gutted, heads removed, then you sliced the bodies cross-wise every couple of inches? I haven't tried the cross-wise slicing thing.....

bd