Thread: Stainless Steel Gun Cleaning?

Default Stainless Steel Gun Cleaning?

I just bought my first Stainless steel Revolver not too long ago (S&W 460v) I finally got to shot it this past weekend.. I have many other blued guns but I have never owned a stainless steel gun. Are there any dfferences in cleaning products when cleaning a stainless gun vs. a blue gun? What products are the best for cleaning stainless guns?

Thanks
    Jeff

I'm no expert, but when the carbon staining gets built up around the cylinder and barrel of my Redhawk in stainless, I use a little Flitz metal polish on a cloth and it comes right off.
    For cleaning the barrel, I use the standard cleaning solvents, lead remover etc.

Mountaintrekker

Default yup

Quote Originally Posted by Mountaintrekker View Post
    I'm no expert, but when the carbon staining gets built up around the cylinder and barrel of my Redhawk in stainless, I use a little Flitz metal polish on a cloth and it comes right off.
    For cleaning the barrel, I use the standard cleaning solvents, lead remover etc.

Mountaintrekker
    Yup, mostly the same stuff. I use a lubricant from RIG designed specifically for stainless when I completely dismantle the guns for an action job and for annual maintenance, but most guys don't dig that far into the guts of a revolver. On the outside, any of the good solvents and oils will do the job.

One word of caution: Stainless steel DOES rust, but just slower than blued. You can't abuse it and let it go without care, especially around saltwater. If you do get rust you can gently polish it out with fine steelwool, and if you go about it right you can hardly tell it's been buffed. Just be sure to use STAINLESS steelwool, because the regular stuff will imbed tiny particles of plain steel into your stainless and subsequently rust as easy as bare steel.