Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Beavers

  1. #1
    Member NatureHawk's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Juneau, AK
    Posts
    15

    Default Beavers

    A few early morning shots of beavers at Dredge Lake in Juneau.




  2. #2
    Member tull777's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Wasilla, Alaska
    Posts
    825

    Default

    Man, I have been trying to get some beaver photos and have failed every time. Glad to see someone having success.
    http://www.pbase.com/tull777

    http://www.eddiefisherphoto.com/


    "If you're too open-minded, your brains will fall out.” ....."Tight Lines & Best Fishes"

  3. #3
    Member NatureHawk's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Juneau, AK
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Thanks tull777, I appreciate you comment. I am still striving for completely successful beaver photos; it is hard to get good shots of these little buggers with their nocturnal habits. These were shot a 5am and I’m not happy with the high ISO generated noise levels but they are my best so far.

  4. #4
    Member tull777's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Wasilla, Alaska
    Posts
    825

    Default

    You might be able to clean up some of the noise in PS. I have had some luck in doing so.
    http://www.pbase.com/tull777

    http://www.eddiefisherphoto.com/


    "If you're too open-minded, your brains will fall out.” ....."Tight Lines & Best Fishes"

  5. #5
    Member Stogey's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    AK
    Posts
    561

    Default Enlighten...

    Quote Originally Posted by tull777 View Post
    You might be able to clean up some of the noise in PS. I have had some luck in doing so.

    Care to share your workflow?
    I have terrible luck cleaning noise from low ISO settings.

    Thanks in advance.

  6. #6
    Member NatureHawk's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Juneau, AK
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Stogey View Post
    Care to share your workflow?
    I have terrible luck cleaning noise from low ISO settings.

    Thanks in advance.
    I don't have much luck either, wouldn't mind hearing about your work flow as well!
    www.naturereflected.com My Photo Gallery
    www.redhawksquest.com My Nature Journal

  7. #7
    Member Sierra Hotel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Chugiak
    Posts
    637

    Default

    My $.02 . .

    I use Noise Ninja, the home version runs about $45,(http://www.picturecode.com ) to take out unwanted noise - it does a remarkable job. It can be downloaded as a standalone or a PS plug in.

  8. #8
    Member tull777's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Wasilla, Alaska
    Posts
    825

    Default As posted from the "Beavers" thread ...

    Sorry for the delay in my response. I have just recently started using adobe cs3 and it has tools for this purpose. Not sure how it compares to other noise removal options. Up to now I have not used any software to remove noise proving that I am no expert by any means. I am just now learning how to make the proper adjustments to remove some noise. From what I gather removing noise can also affect the sharpness of the image(?). In the beaver thread "Sierra" mentions "Noise Ninja", I have had other people say that it is the way to go to clean things up. If you do try it out please let me know how it works. Might be better than what I am using.

    Hope this helps.
    http://www.pbase.com/tull777

    http://www.eddiefisherphoto.com/


    "If you're too open-minded, your brains will fall out.” ....."Tight Lines & Best Fishes"

  9. #9
    Member NatureHawk's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Juneau, AK
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Anything would be better than the noise reduction in Photoshop CS, I can’t afford to upgrade to CS3 but “Noise Ninja” sounds a little more in my price range. Maybe I’ll give it a try.
    www.naturereflected.com My Photo Gallery
    www.redhawksquest.com My Nature Journal

  10. #10
    Member tull777's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Wasilla, Alaska
    Posts
    825

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by NatureHawk View Post
    Anything would be better than the noise reduction in Photoshop CS, I can’t afford to upgrade to CS3 but “Noise Ninja” sounds a little more in my price range. Maybe I’ll give it a try.
    I know what you mean ...I couldn't afford Photoshop CS3, but I was lucky ...my boss purchased it for me in return for some photos of his business.

    Naturehawk, Would you mind if I took your first beaver image and try a little noise reduction on it and posting it back into this thread?

    Let me know , if so I will post it this evening.
    http://www.pbase.com/tull777

    http://www.eddiefisherphoto.com/


    "If you're too open-minded, your brains will fall out.” ....."Tight Lines & Best Fishes"

  11. #11
    Member NatureHawk's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Juneau, AK
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Thats fine with me tull777, I’d like to see what can be done with the noise.
    www.naturereflected.com My Photo Gallery
    www.redhawksquest.com My Nature Journal

  12. #12
    Member tull777's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Wasilla, Alaska
    Posts
    825

    Default Original Image/Noise Reduction Edit ...

    Quote Originally Posted by NatureHawk View Post
    Thats fine with me Tull, I’d like to see what can be done with the noise.
    Here is the original image "without" noise reduction ...



    Her is the same image edited "with" a noise reduction tool ...



    No other adjustments of this image were made, just noise reduction. Definitely lost some detail and it is a bit soft, but I was working with a lot of high ISO noise and had to adjust the settings to just about the max.

    Looks like one has to find a balance between an acceptable amount noise and the sharpness of an image. This is the first time I have tried the PS tool on an image with this amount of noise. I think it turned out perty well.

    I would really like to see how the "Noise Ninja" compares to the PS edit. If the "Ninja" will do a better job, I would definitely look into purchasing it. Some feedback would be much appreciated ...possitive and or negative.

    Oh ya, thanks NatureHawk for allowing me to use your image as an example ...It was fun!
    http://www.pbase.com/tull777

    http://www.eddiefisherphoto.com/


    "If you're too open-minded, your brains will fall out.” ....."Tight Lines & Best Fishes"

  13. #13
    Member tull777's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Wasilla, Alaska
    Posts
    825

    Default One more try ...

    I have a habit of tweaking things to death. Had to play with the image a little more. Both of my edits still end up looking a little farcical(is that a word?), a bit unnatural. Oh well, I tried.



    As far as work flow goes ...

    I start out by viewing images, deleting the junk, rate and organize them in "Adobe Bridge" ...open image in "Camera RAW" and make some minor adjustments of color saturation, crop and straighten adjustment if need be, a little curve tweaking and then off to "Photoshop" where I might do some touch ups and then save image. I am sure that there is a better way and I would really like to hear about it cause I am making it up as I go along!
    Last edited by tull777; 06-08-2008 at 01:54. Reason: Forgot to mention work flow
    http://www.pbase.com/tull777

    http://www.eddiefisherphoto.com/


    "If you're too open-minded, your brains will fall out.” ....."Tight Lines & Best Fishes"

  14. #14
    Member NatureHawk's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Juneau, AK
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Tull777, I think you did a great job! I guess I’ll have to invest in some good noise reduction software. Just think how much better it would have come out if you were working with the original 10.1 MB file instead of a 197KB compressed file!
    www.naturereflected.com My Photo Gallery
    www.redhawksquest.com My Nature Journal

  15. #15
    Member Stogey's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    AK
    Posts
    561

    Default Noise

    Thanks to all.

    I have CS2 on my Mac, and PSE6 on my PC... I'll see what I can do with some high-noise photos... then maybe I'll play with some of the options listed in the posts.
    Then I'll share my findings. If there's anything worth sharing.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •