Thread: floating willow creek

Default floating willow creek

I have a ten foot single man cat, and want to float willow creek. Is this a very difficult river to float? I've only manned a raft one time in a river and it was on the kenai for short stretches. I've heard of a lot of logjams but I'm not sure what part of the river they are on. And is there any place to put in above pioneer lodge? I have a cabin right next to there so would prefer to put in above there and take out at the lodge or a little lower.

Remember, I'm a beginner and will be bringing a buddy who has no experience at all floating.

Default Hey Griff

Quote Originally Posted by griff View Post
    I have a ten foot single man cat, and want to float willow creek. Is this a very difficult river to float? I've only manned a raft one time in a river and it was on the kenai for short stretches. I've heard of a lot of logjams but I'm not sure what part of the river they are on. And is there any place to put in above pioneer lodge? I have a cabin right next to there so would prefer to put in above there and take out at the lodge or a little lower.

Remember, I'm a beginner and will be bringing a buddy who has no experience at all floating.
    The willow is pretty well braided. I too am wanting to get out and float it here soon...was going to go today, but, wife is still asleep...her one day off this weekend so I don't have the heart to wake her up. Anywho, I am always looking for folks to float with....

As long as you stay with main channel you should be fine. That said, the upper willow is different from lower. I generally float the lower, from pioneer down. You can drive up fishhook, and about 5 road miles up, maybe a little less, there are launches. I am hoping that King's will be in up there soon....Rainbow fishing has been slow during the spawn. Let me know....I have a 12' two person Cat....

Default Shallow with log jams