Thread: Fishing for halibut

Default Fishing for halibut

May be headed to Elmendorf AFB for a tour. Wife and I like to fish, having owned a small Lund 16' boat in SD, VA, and ultimately NM, before having to part with it to move to HI. Will know in next 10 days or so if I am headed to Elmendorf or Montana (I am ecstatic with either, though the wife loves the idea of going to Anchorage). Questions are many:
    1. How far out of Anchorage must one go to pursue Halibut?
    2. What size boat is recommended? I don't see a lot of Lund's being mentioned (probably due to rust?)
    Any other information is appreciated. Thanks in advance for your advice.

Congrats on your possible move to Alaska! It will be a tour you'll never forget, even if boatless.

I'm not an expert on fishing from the Kenia Pennisula, which is where your looking to launch from, most likely Whittier or Seward. I'm sure you'll get plenty of real good advice.

As far as rust, that's not really a problem with Lunds. Maybe more an issue of leaking rivets, which you are probably already familiar with.

A decent Lund, in the 18' to 20' range will work, but you have to pick your days out on the water. This is a situation where even a cheap 20ft plus Bayliner would work well. In your case, it must trailerable. So a good truck will be mandatory.

A good arguement for just driving down to Homer and taking a charter boat every month could be made, but what's the fun in that?

Thanks for your service, my son is stationed at the Air Guard base in Anchorage as a FE on their H60 helos.

Default appropriate boat

If you get to Alaska and want to figure what to "buy", just rent a boat from the rec services for a while and see what they have. You`ll probably do Whittier and Seward for a while and learn what is being used there. Wait for the sportsmans show in the spring and you`ll be a bit more educated--tho many boats are sold in the fall as fishermen turn into hunters.

Default Lunds