Thread: black bear questions

Default black bear questions

i am new at bear hunting and me and a friend are trying to get on some bears. we didnt get to a bear baiting clinic and we have limited time whats the best approach?

Find some sunny slopes, spot and stalk. The southern exposures are mostly clear of snow now and vegitation is coming up for them to feed on. Spend time glassing the slopes for them.

Quote Originally Posted by 338WM View Post
    Find some sunny slopes, spot and stalk. The southern exposures are mostly clear of snow now and vegitation is coming up for them to feed on. Spend time glassing the slopes for them.
    I agree, pick a good area for bear and try to find sign, scat and tracks. Find areas where freshly melted snow is giving way to new vegitation. If it's really warm and sunny, hunt shaded areas. When you're in a good area go slow and stop now and then for 10 or 15 min to listen and glass.