Thread: A total Newbie

Default A total Newbie

So, I was out fishing yesterday, and met a random person panning. He showed me some color, and yes I am hooked! Picked up two gold pans last night, and just an eye dropper to sniff with to start. Not even entirely sure how to sniff the flakes: with water in the dropper I assume. Not looking to do anything on a large scale...just pan while fishing as areas present themselves. Not even sure I would be able to tell difference between real flakes and fools.
    So, any beginners tips etc would be greatly appreciated! Not asking for any spots...just instructions for beginners. Heading out again today...

i would suggest lookin at the gpaa its a good way to start and cheep if you go to the lower 48. they have lost of places in the lower 48, not so many up here. go by alaska mining and diving they have lots of books to help find locations. another suggestion is to look on youtube for videos on how to pan. it helps a little. like you i usually bring a pan along when fishing or camping, i have found gold not much but it does add up. n would sugest getting plastic vials to store the gold in i dropped abd broke the glass ones. hope you find some gold.jeff

PM me your address. I have a tape called "sure fire panning methods". I don't need it anymore so you are welcome to have it. With out physically showing you, this is the best tape ever to learn from.

I'll send it to ya no charge, just to get you hooked more! ;-)

Curt

Default PAN

I would suggest, use the pan sparingly; BUY A SLUICE.