Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: HELP!! family hunting trip

Question HELP!! family hunting trip

i am new to caribou huning. my family (me, the wife, our children 11boy, 10girl, 8girl) want to go caribou hunting. i'm thinking that up on the steese would be the best option as i can't really expect my kids to pack in five miles and then treck all over the tundra. like i said i'm new to this game and don't really know what to expect. can you help with suggestions and some do's and don'ts. any help would be great!
    Last edited by wantamoose; 05-16-2008 at 13:05. Reason: needed to add something

Will you be hunting right from the road, or do you have enough atv's for the whole crew? That will play a part in making a decent suggestion.

Based on the past several years, unless you live reasonably close to the Steese, you're probably better off hunting off the Taylor. The herd's movement toward the Steese has been late and unpredictable for the last 4-5 years. If you're going to drive all the way up from Anchorage at today's gas prices, you might want to go where you have the best shot at seeing caribou.

i only have one atv. not enough for the whole family. we would be hunting from near the road. thats why i thought of the steese not the dalton.

where is the taylor? is it the same basic regulations as the steese? i know that at least my wife and kids will be using rifles. i'm debaiting on using my bow or not. it will all depend on how much practice i can get in after i get home from iraq.

Default Break them apart

Just my $0.02 but I would break out the hunts. I would move to two person hunts and take one for spring black bear, one for Bou, one for moose etc… then swap out who hunts what every year. This includes the wife. You may need a friend who can watch the kids for a weekend or send them off to the grandparents.

Drew