Thread: reel for a 7wt

Default reel for a 7wt

Hey all,

I'm headed up to Kodiak in late July/early August and I'm thinking of getting a new reel to replace the one on my 7 wt rod before I go. I've currently got a Gander Mountain reel (I think it's made by Albright) that works ok for steelheading in the Lake Superior tribs here in MN, but lately the spool has started to randomly free-wheel when I pull line out of it. I don't want to entrust my fishing on Kodiak to a reel that could give out at any moment.

Any suggestions on what I should replace it with? I'm a student so I'd like to keep it under a couple hundred bucks, and the cheaper the better. Mostly I just want something with a reliable drag. I've never fly fished for any salmon besides pinks, but I hear a reliable drag is a must.

The reel will be going on a TFO TiCrX 7wt rod (I know, I know, I don't know why I got such a nice rod and didn't drop some more money on a better reel--live and learn, I guess). Suggestions welcome. Thanks in advance.

Default 7 wt reel recs

1. This thread on 8wt reels was pretty informative - and should apply to your needs too...

http://forums.outdoorsdirectory.com/...ad.php?t=28376

2. You could call or visit local fly shops, which would give you the advantage of handling the reel before purchase. My experiences with McAfee's, Mountain View, Worldwide Angler and 3 Rivers have all been positive; good advice and good products. I think the Okumas are probably stocked at most or maybe all those shops and run under $200. The local fly shops won't steer you wrong and have the best local knowledge.

3. Cabelas carries a variety of reels. Although Scientific Anglers wasn't mentioned in the 8wt thread above, some SA reels are on sale at Cabelas now - for under $200.

Good luck and have a great trip.