Thread: Dalton Highway Caribou Camp

Default Dalton Highway Caribou Camp

I've never done the Dalton Highway Caribou hunt before but have read alot about it. How do most people camp while on this hunt (i.e. campers, tents, etc.)? Where do you camp? Are there large pull offs or designated camping areas? If so what are the locations?

Default Expert - Camper

I'm an expert on the camping part of the Haul road. Not so good on the harvest - so, when I tell you I'm heading up there, you should go somewhere else... I seem to find a way to clear the caribou out for miles.

Anyway - All forms of camping are done on the Dalton.
    The vast majority are in tents. But you will see a few RV's, couple travel trailers and a number of slide in campers on trucks.

Do NOT camp on the pipeline, under the pipeline, or block any access to a road that accesses the pipeline.
    Make absolutely sure that your vehicle is off the road. Three reasons -

• First, it's bad for the truckers trying to make a living
    • Second, it's bad for your truck when the rocks get kicked up on it.
    • Third, it's hard on your wallet when you get a ticket

If you want to use the pipeline... you'll need a R.U.G.; which you can get from any of the pump stations. This is a permit to allow you to 'legally' walk or bike across the private property (Alyeska type).
    Most of the security folks are very understanding, and will help you get a R.U.G., but one of these day's someone is going to do something worse than drive two trucks on the tundra and really get under their skin.

With that - don't drive on the tundra.

You'll find that there are lots of places you can park your truck, off the road, and out of the way of the access roads...
    Personally, I like to get camp away from the road... noise, dust, etc. Some of the tundra makes an excellent bed, very soft.

Good luck, have fun. And remember; gas is expensive!

Default Camping Area

Quote Originally Posted by cowildin View Post