Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Free Spin-N-Glows

Default Free Spin-N-Glows

Yes that is right.

I am offering two rigged Spin-N-Glows to the first six people who ask for them.

Preferably to beginners who do not yet tie there own. Possibly dont even know what a Spin-N-Glow is.

--

Why? Because I remember the first summer (1984) that I fished for King Salmon. My brother and I who were 11 and 13 at the time were given $6 each to buy lures for our big fishing weekend with dad.

We bought some mepps spinners and a pixie or two along with a couple coho flies to use up the change. We pooled our money together to buy one Super Spin-N-Glow which I lost on a snag my first cast. I did have one hit on a coho fly but I did not get that little gap hook set.

It was not until my second summer that I hooked my first king on a Spin-N-Glow that I had found on the bank. My dad caught his first king that second summer on a factory Spin-N-Glow with the wire shank. We were self taught to say the least.

I would like to give a head start to a few here by at least giving them the right rig to fish with.

These are #4 on a 30# P-line Evolution leader at 30" with a tandem 3/0 Gamakatsu hooks and a 100# berkely barrel swivel.

Just put a 1/2 to 1 ounce sinker on your main line in front of the swivel depending on current. In a river with current cast quartering upstream, let the lure drift with minimal slack and reel in when the lure stops swinging. If your fishing a slough then reel in slowly, just fast enough to make the wings spin. Of course there is a little more to the techniques than this. Along with more ways to fish them. In the right hole I have just stuck on extra weight cast out into the hole and put the rod in a forked stick and leave it the til one grabs it. Might want to add an anchor line to your rod though.

--