Thread: Bedding by a novice

Default Bedding by a novice

I am not a gun smith, or even experienced tinker. I am pretty new at altering firearms from factory configurations, but I had a good time and good experience with this project so I figured I'd share the details.

The gun chosen is a Ruger M77 Mk II in .243W. I always wanted a Ruger project gun since everyone that has "custom guns" start with Remingtons and Savages and the such. It seems I bought it new for a small predator and bou hunting, but like everyone else here, I want more accuracy. I have a load that I like right now, but havent shot anything bigger than paper yet. It isnt my "ideal" round, but it will do for now: 100gr Speer StzBt with a soft point on top of Varget powder. I played with powder charges and seating depts to get the best 100 group of about an inch. The worst group was around 1.5 inches, so it wasnt too bad to begin with. Anyways, on with the bedding.