Thread: Carrying through Canada

Default Carrying through Canada

This has probably been addressed a million times but I'm new to the handgun portion of this forum and need advice. I'm retiring from the military and heading to MN. Will head through Canada enroute to Haines. Dont want to go all the way through the states without my weapon. last time I checked you could get by if your barrel length was greater then 4 inches. Just got back from the outdoor sportsman where they tell me NO handguns are allowed through....any thoughts? Thinking of 2 day fed exing it to my hotel in Haines...not sure if that is kosher...any advice will be greatly appreciated

Quote Originally Posted by pitstaff View Post
    This has probably been addressed a million times but I'm new to the handgun portion of this forum and need advice. I'm retiring from the military and heading to MN. Will head through Canada enroute to Haines. Dont want to go all the way through the states without my weapon. last time I checked you could get by if your barrel length was greater then 4 inches. Just got back from the outdoor sportsman where they tell me NO handguns are allowed through....
    Though not technically correct, for all intents and purposes that is true. You need prior written approval (submitted and delivered weeks in advance) stating your reason for transporting the handgun and absolutely no guarantee of approval.

Default Handguns canada