Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Bear Plug

Default Bear Plug

for the bear hunters out there....I came across this in the woods yesterday and was wondering if it was a 'Fecal Plug'...if not what do yall think it is?

Default .Hmmm...

Quote Originally Posted by Richie View Post
    for the bear hunters out there....I came across this in the woods yesterday and was wondering if it was a 'Fecal Plug'...if not what do yall think it is?

Looks like last year's doo-doo to me (note the dead grass ON TOP of it, indicating that the grass died after it was dropped).

I'm no expert, but that's my take.

-Mike
    LOST CREEK COMPANY: Specializing in Alaska hunt consultation and planning for do-it-yourself hunts, fully outfitted hunts, and guided hunts.
    CLICK HERE to send me a private message.
    Web Address: http://alaskaoutdoorssupersite.com/hunt-planner/
    Mob: 1 (907) 229-4501
    "Dream big, and dare to fail." -Norman Vaughan
    "I have climbed my mountain, but I must still live my life." - Tenzig Norgay

Looks more like a "moose pie" than bear to me. The plugs I have seen look much darker, like merconium(sp?) from a new born baby.
    Spending my kids' inheritance with them, one adventure at a time.

Quote Originally Posted by Richie View Post
    I'm no expert, but I think that is a pile of crap.

Winter "plugs" are usually a single entity and full of hair. Bears apparently will bite mouth fulls of hair from their abd. and swallow it to help form the plug.

Hint: the Moose droppings you see that are also popular tourist trinkets (yes, people actually buy doo-doo) are not what moose poop always looks like. Spoiled One, I had the same thought; looks like a summer moose pie.

Default Moose

When a ruminant changes its diet, ie. summer to fall they will have a different texture to their stool. This is caused when the animal does not have the correct bacteria to help with digestion of its new food. This is what you are looking at...

Hope this helps
    Tucker