Thread: Kodiak in late July/early August

Default Kodiak in late July/early August

I've been lurking on this forum for a while trying to glean valuable information, and now that my Kodiak plans are quickly becoming a reality I thought I'd start actively asking questions.

I'm going to be in Kodiak from mid-july until mid-august for a medical internship (I'm a first-year med student). I think it'll be 2-3 weeks of internship and the rest of the time is for fishing. From what I can tell the pinks and reds will be in, which sounds like a blast. I've got 7 wt and 10 wt fly rods, as well as a 7' heavy baitcasting rod. I figure the 7 wt will work for pinks, though it might be a little heavy, and I'm not sure which rod would work best for reds. I thought maybe I could whip the 10 wt out at the mouth of some rivers and see what will take a fly, though I've never done any saltwater fly fishing.

Any tips on where I should pursue reds? From what I've read the road system is pretty solid for pinks and dollies. I picked up a copy of Alaskan Author's Kodiak book, but haven't had a chance to read it just yet.

Any hints, tips, tackle suggestions, or any other info would be greatly appreciated. I've fished pinks in Lake Superior tributaries, but otherwise I'm new to the salmon fly fishing game. I've caught a few silvers (we call 'em Cohos down here) and kings trolling in Lake Superior, but nothing like the AK fish I've seen pics of. Is there much of a chance to chase rainbows on Kodiak, or is that more of a mainland activity?

Also, does anybody know of guides that will add a single fisherman onto a group they're taking out of Kodiak? I'd love to hit the salt, but as a lone fisherman I'm not sure how to go about this.