Thread: Bull Magnet

Default Bull Magnet

Has anyone ever used a bull magnet? It is a moose call; for those who do not know what it is. Would you recommend a different call. I like the look of it because it seems to be versatile. thanks

Of all the calls that I have seen or used I like the Bull Magnet the most. I prefer the smaller model as you will be packing it around. You can drill a hole at either end and attach a string to throw over your shoulder. The Bull Magnet simply magnifies the sound that you make and allows you to throw your call further. It also works good for scraping etc. There are many uses for it.

Thumbs up Bull Magnet comments

Wayne Kubat's Bull Magnet is a great tool for calling moose. I've been using mine for several years, and can attest to its effectiveness at bringing bulls in from long distances. My personal record that I actually observed, was a bull I saw from a mountainside in the Aniak River area. A few long quavering cow calls and he came running our way. He obviously heard us, and he was three miles away.

The thing I DON'T like about the Magnet is that when you use it like a scraper, it sounds a bit too "tinny" to me. It almost has a ringing sound, I think because it's made of fiberglass. I find that if you hang on to the mouthpiece end and grab the shallow part of the other end in the other hand and scrape with it that way, you get a more realistic sound. That's my take anyway.