Thread: CCW places off-limits

Default CCW places off-limits

The Loussac Library is posted that no guns or weapons are allowed on the premises. I am aware of all of the places off-limits and our ability to conceal and open carry in the state.

My question pertains to the fact that this is a public library and should fall under municipal preemption signed by Governor Murkowski. Is this actually a "public" library? I realize that there are some city functions that occurr there so I am of the belief that any restrictions of the carrying of any firearms, both openly and concealed is not a violation of the law and that the posted sign, is in fact, a violation of preemption.

Am I wrong in this line of thinking?

Good question.

I would think that your right, but then again I'm no lawyer. That would certainly be a good thing to find out.

On a side note, does anyone know if IHOP serves alcohol? I would like to OC in there but I don't know if they serve alcohol.

Jon

p.s. Did you ever draft that letter to the Governor?

I've carried in there. It's not like anyone is shaking you down as you walk in the door. Concealed means concealed.
    Now what ?

Default I doesn't matter if IHOP serves alcohol..they serve

food and if you don't drink alcohol then its legal for you to carry in a place that serves food and alcohol...thats my understanding..

Quote Originally Posted by Oneriver View Post
    food and if you don't drink alcohol then its legal for you to carry in a place that serves food and alcohol...thats my understanding..
    That may not be accurate. I thought that to be the case myself, but it appears to cover concealed handguns only in places that serve for on-premises consumption. I think I have found the only distinction between open and concealed carry in Alaska firearm statutes.

http://www.dps.alaska.gov/statewide/...p/ACHPRegs.pdf

(d) In a prosecution under (a)(2) of this section, it is

(1) an affirmative defense that

(A) [Repealed, Sec. 7 ch 62 SLA 2003].