Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: you buy a boat...Then what

Default you buy a boat...Then what

I am purchasing a 93 wooldridge Alaskan 17'6" with a 2000 90 horse Merc Jet. The boat was just gone through by Grant Wooldride himself in Seattle and some repairs were made. I talked to Grant today and he said the boat is mechanically sound and went over all the repairs they performed with me. Aparently the boat was trailered improperly (dirt roads with only the bow strap for years) which caused some stress fractures. The boat was re welded and some supports were added. Then it was pressure tested for leaks (filled with water I guess) and per Grant is stronger than it was new. This is all sidebar info for this post but here is the meat of it. I am a total noob when it comes to boating. I don't know how to read rivers, I dont know what I have to have on the boat, I don't know what I have to do to register/license it, I don't have the foggiest where I can use it or where to go once I leave any of the launches.
    I can find Deshka and Burma Landing. I understand there is a way to hunt the Haul road from a boat but I have never tried and only have second hand info as I have not been up there. I don't know which rivers are passable though I think that may be half the fun exploring with this boat. Anyway the plan was 4 wheelers this year but I hope to get more use out of this for the whole family, hopefully you all can point me in the right direction for both fun AND safety! (my kids are ages 1-6 all boys and I hate leaving them and momma home)

Default Use it!

LuJon,
    I just sold a 17-5 Wooly w/ 115/80 Yamaha and they are great boats with some limitations on how much you can haul.
    The most weight I had in my boat was about 1200 pounds, while that wasnt the max it was close. That included 70 gallons of fuel 3 men and gear on a fishing trip. I had to run the Yam at 5100 to stay on step. I assume the merc is 60ish HP at the Jet?