Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Russian Experience

Default Russian Experience

I just returned from another great trip to Alaska. We spent most of our time at the Russian River area and managed to catch our limit basically every day. The bear-viewing was an added bonus. The weather was good. Overall, we had a great time. I'm not an expert, but a number of incidents involving poor ethics, judgement, and common courtesy by some individuals could have really hampered the experience.

Yes, these things are going to happen in these crowded conditions, but many are just plain silly...
    firing a warning shot from a pistol up a heavily used pathway to scare
    away bears that had no interest in people
    a man wedging between two fisherman and then inviting the rest of
    his group to join as well
    taking someone's spot while he is landing/stringing his fish
    refusing to stop casting and move when someone slightly upsteam is
    bringing his fish in
    actually "casting" over multiple lines of people while they are doing the
    Kenai flip
    the girlfriend technique- when the female of a couple squeezes into
    crowded part of the line, as if she has an exemption, with the male
    joining a short time later
    the super fisherman that tries to set a new record on how quickly he
    can get his limit, not stringing, disabling, or bleedding his fish,
    before throwing them on the bank to flop, becoming a bear
    magnet

The list goes on. I hope that this is caused mostly from lack of education, not intentional disregard of proper etiquette. There are some resources that outline correct fishing procedure, but we need a way to ensure that all fisherman have the basic knowledge of these guidelines.