Thread: Bivy Sack for Sheep Hunting ?

Default Bivy Sack for Sheep Hunting ?

Was lucky enough to draw ds102 TMA !! And have most of my gear assembled and purchased but am looking for some heads up on what bivy sack to consider. Preferable on the less expensive side of this as I am a bit over budget already!! Looking for lightweight and totally waterproof... obviously(rather be wet from inside than outside I guess. I have no experience with bivy sacks but need have to the ability to sack out nearly anywhere!!.

Most people don't like the extra weight on a sheep/goat hunt, but I personally carry my bivy with me on all my hunts. I think it weighs in at 1.2 lbs is all gortex, double zippers on both sides (you can wear it like a parka and still use both arms outside), double chest/face liner (mosquito net and or gortex cover). I think I paid $285.00 for it 10 years ago. The 3 things I do not skimp on when hunting (especially alone) are.

1.Tent
    2. Sleeping bag
    3. Bivy sack

Weather kills, period. I carry the bivy when away from camp. It's not much alone but it could save your life or perhaps your hunting partner gets hurt and you have to go for help, sure would be nice to put him/her in a bivy, may just save his/hers/your life.

The only thing I didn't get on mine (and wish I had) was D-rings to stake it down if need be. You might not be on a flat place to sleep and rolling off the mountain side is, er, ummmm probably not to fun.

P.S. Congrats on the TMA, Great hunt. Was my first sheep hunt and did it solo, had a great time and bagged my first ram.

Default Intended Use???

What is your intended use of this bivy? A primary shelter or a shelter incase you gotta stay away from your tent for a night??

Just to keep options open.... If I See "the Ram" a little later that I would want to and make a stalk a little later than I should.... It would be nice to have the option.