Thread: Boat Deprivation

Default Boat Deprivation

I miss driving boats on the open water. I have always said, I can do without an ATV but I cannot go without a boat. At the moment I have a sq stern canoe that is not adding up to satisfaction. Even as a small boy I was out on the water on a small pond in Bangore Maine. I have seen the pictures. I grew up on the water. I cannot go without a real boat no longer.

I have been mulling the idea of buying a boat for a few years now. Most importantly my wife is warm to the idea. Ever since the old airboat was sold I had thought about buying a boat of my own. At first a jon boat mounted with a jet was on my mind. I always looked for a good deal but the idea was in the back of my mind, never on the fore front was a boat. I feel like ATV's are an extinguished fire for my needs and recreational desires. Being on the water in a boat is where I am happy. I am a fisherman at heart and a boat can get me to the spots I aspire to fish. Almost equally important of the warm wife idea a boat can load the entire familly, and ATV cannot.

Here is my choices. Within the next 2 years I have set a goal for myself, that would be to buy a river boat. Airboat or jet boat are on the agenda at the moment. Large inboard jets are not my thing and I tend to stay away from them, its more preferance than anything. calndux posts made me forget how much I miss running airboats and I have over 1000 hours on our previous airboat with the new engine and tach. I cant even recall how many ours I have on the old Rotax egnine, I assume its roughly the same as the new. I have some time driving inboard jets and some in outboard jets, but I am still green. I am inclined to stay with I know, I am still unsure though.

Quote Originally Posted by Water_Gremlin
    I can do without an ATV but I cannot go without a boat. Almost equally important of the warm wife idea a boat can load the entire family, and ATV cannot.