Thread: September to remember trip!

Talking September to remember trip!

Hey guys,
    I am a newbie on this site and have already really enjoyed reading the wealth of info out there. Although I have been to the Kenai area to fish Kings, Silvers and Reds a couple dozen times, last year was my first Trout trip. I am coming back 9/12/08 9/28/08. I did a trip last year with the great folks at Trout fitters and will be joining them again for a couple days this year. Although I will be fishing mostly for trout, I will be set up to do some steel head and silvers fishing depending on what you all recommend. I am staying in the Kenai/Soldotna area so Deep, Ninilichik & Anchor are within a short drive as well as the Upper Kenai. I have read Flies for Alaska and Flyfishing Alaska by Route as well as the Highway Angler by Pederson so I have some idea.

My understanding is Quartz creek closes on the 15th so I would like to start there. How is this stream at that time and where do I access it from?

Last year I did not fish the Russian but was hoping to fish it, any thoughts? Also are the silvers worth trying?

Any thoughts on the silvers and SH on other rivers/streams?

Sorry for being long winded but I am really excited to get back up there and feel the pull of a Alaska native as there is nothing else like it! Thanks in advance.

the russian should be good that time of the year, although if the reds are gone, it seems like the rainbows are gone too. that happened to me last year, spent two days on the river and only caught 1 silver(was a very nice silver.) the weekend before that I caught fish every other cast. I think it will depend on when the reds are in, and thats been kinda whacky the past couple years.

Default books...