Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Black Bear hunting in Fairbanks

Default Black Bear hunting in Fairbanks

I am pretty new to the Fairbanks area, I have lived here for about a year and a half, but I grew up in Wasilla. I am looking to do some black bear hunting pretty soon. I was just wondering if anyone knows of a good round about area to start, of course without giving up your hunting spot. I was out last september moose hunting and saw a blackie, but he was to far to take a shot. I don't know how territorial they are and if I might see him again. Any input would definately help. I have a couple of buddies who are going to set up a bait station, so I might give that a try too.

20B.....theres your round about area....like I told the last guy looking for info on black bear hunting around fairbanks...ya right...there are enough people baiting in fairbanks area so getting info out of us is pretty slim... Good luck

Default Bear area

Quote Originally Posted by carman99 View Post
    I am pretty new to the Fairbanks area, I have lived here for about a year and a half, but I grew up in Wasilla. I am looking to do some black bear hunting pretty soon. I was just wondering if anyone knows of a good round about area to start, of course without giving up your hunting spot. I was out last september moose hunting and saw a blackie, but he was to far to take a shot. I don't know how territorial they are and if I might see him again. Any input would definately help. I have a couple of buddies who are going to set up a bait station, so I might give that a try too.

Try heading North towards Livengood. Head north on the highway until you get to 28 Mile. Vicinity of White Mountain trails. Then go left or West towards the pipline and beyond. Good bear area. You can even move a little further north towards Livengood and also do well. Expect to see others in the area.

Default that's my spot

...i couldn't resist.