Thread: Newbie question: Crimping non-grooved bullets

Default Newbie question: Crimping non-grooved bullets

My Lyman manual says that you should only crimp grooved bullets (cannelure), and that crimping is necessary for autoloading and lever guns, as well as those with heavy recoil.

The instructions with my die set say that 'bullets do not need a crimp groove as the lee factory crimp die will form one while crimping'.

Question #1: Does a 300 Win mag less than max loads generate enough recoil to need crimping? I am using a bolt action rifle, and will have rounds in a magazine in hunting scenarios.

Question #2: If it is good practice to crimp these rounds, should I crimp a non-grooved bullet? The manual suggests I don't, but the die instructions say it's okay to crimp.

I am just getting into reloading and am still reading the manuals before I begin loading any ammo. My first loads will be 32 special and 300 win mag. After a lot of research on this forum and others, I decided to go with the Lyman T-Mag Turret press kit, about $325 in Cabelas. I will be using both Lee and RCBS die sets.

Default crimping

I've heard that you should crimp and yet a lot of people dont. The way I see it, why do they make 180 grn, 200, etc etc bullets without the cannelure if they should be crimped. I havent heard of crimping without a cannelure in the bullet, but I'm no expert. I never have crimped. I shoot 300WSM with rounds in the mag and checked the overal lengths after season and none of them moved. I have one on my keychain and the bullet isnt even loose after two years in my pocket.

Just my thoughts

I am interested in what the pros say on here.

Quote Originally Posted by ripnlip View Post
    I am interested in what the pros say on here.
    I am alos interested in what the experts here say, especially since I plan to start loading Barnes bullets. Never crimped before, and i got good results. But have always used non-grovved bullets.

???