Thread: Complete Newbie - Need advice for garden

Talking Complete Newbie - Need advice for garden

All,

I have never gardened before but thanks to a sub forum on my favorite web site (this one) I have decided to try.

Here is my situation. I have a pre existing garden from the previous owners of my home. We bought it 3 years ago and have done nothing with it.

Nothing grows in it now but weeds, but I would like to grow fruits and veggies or herbs for the summer.

What can I plant to have some food to eat at some point this summer?

Also, what could I plant for next season that I may be too late to grow this year?

Remember, I am your worst case scenario. I know nothing about gardening.

Oh yeah...I am not picky.

Thanks for your knowledge and patience,

Gusto
    Future Greenthumb

Default kiss method

I was in the same boat as you a few years ago. My wife is an expert but I wanted to do it myself. She has her baskets and herb garden I wanted veggies. Things that have grown great for me are snap peas, radish's both white and red, lettuce, carrotts, brocolii, cauliflower maters and squash.

If you have not started your seeds yet you should do it this weekend. Start them inside. Just get some of the little planters things at wally world and a bag of potting soil. plant them and put them in a place that will get some sun and you will be fine.

The hardest thing is getting the garden prepared. I would pull all the weeds out. In mine i pulled all the weeds and tilled up the soil and then added some more top soil to get it all mixed up. I put down the grey fabric to prevent weed grow. I cut small holes 2 inchs in diameter for me plants and planted them. They do face the late morning and all afternoon sun. I have had great success. you dont have to use the fabric I just have found it cuts down on the weeds by about 90 percent.

Keep reading here and asking questions and you should have some good fun

Oh and my wife grows around 15 different herbs in her rock gardem