Thread: Help advice needed "Why use a professional photographer?"

Kink Alaska surrounded by sled dog kennels, a fabulous view and lots of hunting.

Default Help advice needed "Why use a professional photographer?"

Hi All -
    After 30 years of amature photography, it took me 2 years to use to the term " professional" for myself. The Nikon D-70 helped. It's like a media pass hanging around my neck. People ask who I work for. Once I had a few dozen photos in print and had businesses purchase photos it was easier to say I am a professional. I think when I see more photos by other professionals, that I can improve on by framing, exposure, and subject angles I feel more professional as well. So, I was not only surpised but offended when the when a local city manager said " we dont need professional photographers now with digital camaras." It was a gallery opening and not the time for debate, but this is a guy that holds the purse strings for several facilities that use photography.

I have photos of various places and facilites that are clearly better than those supplied by the city, taken by employees.

How do you explain the reasons for a professional to people who do not see? Without getting defensive?
    I continually take photos of local sites and activites, all year round, to archive for visitor and civic publications later. Maybe post or direct the decision makers to my galleries? Any advice?

Good or bad, it's always the photographer that makes the photos. It's not the equipment one uses to take them. The move to digital medium has not changed that one byte. Snap shooters still take snapshots, and quality shooters still take quality shots. If the end user cannot tell the difference, they deserve what they settle for.

People who appreciate quality will continue to pay for it. Schmucks never have, and they never will. This has nothing to do with digital either.

Quote Originally Posted by Linda View Post
    Hi All -