Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What factory 30-06 ammo....

Default What factory 30-06 ammo....

I'm new to shooting and would like to know if.......
    Just kiddin'.

What is a good quality factory ammo for the 30-06 in the 150-165 grain bullet weight,not too expensive, not to "super premium" and not "lght magnum" that would still be an appropriate load for black bear and caribou. I don't buy factory ammo but I want to send a hunter afield with ammo that can be found around the state to hunt and sight in with.
    Is there nothing so sacred on this earth that you aren't willing to kill or die for?

I have a old .30-06 at the cabin for the "just in case" a critter comes through gun. It used to be my old faithful. I shoot 180gn core-lokts in it and it shoots very well. Never shot the 150-165gn loads, imagine they would be very accurate in that cal. Give the Remington 180gn core-lokts a try, you'll like em.

Any one every shot the 55gn loads for the 06? Seen them at the SW, looks like a wicked little load.

Yep, Remington Core-Lokt ammo can be found on almost every village store shelf out here in bush Alaska. Mostly 165 and 180 grain PSP, and 220 grain SP ammo. Some of the bigger hub communities may also carry the Premier Core-lokt Ultrabonded 150, 168 and 180 grain ammo. Most everyone uses Core-lokt, at least out here.

Default factory 06 ammo

Murphy I've had good results down here with federal plain red box 165s and remington 165 corelokts both shot around inch to inch and a half in six different rifles mdl 70s rem 700s and ruger m77s they both worked well on deer and hogs up to 400 pounds hope this helps with your problem.....ronnie

Pretty simple, really. Blue box Federal ammo. $12-20 a box depending on where you shop.

Thumbs up +2 on 180gr Hi Shok

+2...........or the cheaper 180gr Federal in the blue gray box..Hi Shok SP which is Speer do everything load. I do not suggest the 150gr in Alaska........last year bought them on sale $13.00
    Alaska