Thread: Quick question - coleman canoe

Default Quick question - coleman canoe

I'm ignorant when it comes to canoes, I need a canoe that I can leave at a cabin, that will take abuse and weather,

I've looked at old towns and others what do the experts think of the coleman for a general purpose kid friendly canoe and what is a decent price?

I am by no means an expert but I have 2 coleman canoes. One is 10 years old and the other is closer to 20. They still work just fine for me. There are many better canoes out there EX: lighter, faster, stronger. But for an inexpensive durable canoe they work great. You can usually find them in the $200-500 range and most often $400 used.
    It ain't about the # of pounds of meat we bring back, nor about how much we spent to go do it. Its about seeing what no one else sees.

http://wouldieatitagainfoodblog.blogspot.com/

They work...as in they float...but not an enjoyable canoe for me. They are heavy, they flex (oil can) as they go through the water, they transfer the cold (or heat to be correct), etc. They are inexpensive.

If you want to try one they are rented at Nancy Lakes. Last year they also had an Old Town. You might be able to compare the two if they still have both. The Old Town will be easier to tip...Guess how I know.

I had some friends in Montana that had a Coleman and would loan it out to their other friends. "Stay away from the bridges." Well their friends did not head the words and while on the Yellowstone River they wrapped the canoe around a bridge footing. The owners pulled the alum. parts off, pushed it back into shape, then replaced the alum. parts (new). Good enought to float again. I couldn't do that with my Mad River!

Default Coleman Canoes

Coleman Canoes are the worst I ever fell out of!!!