Thread: Bait Barrels?

Default Bait Barrels?

I've shot bears, but I've never baited for them, until this year. How accessible should I make my bait in a barrel? Hard to get but doable (so they have to work at it)? or easy to get and rebait a lot? Any advice would be great.
    Thanks in advance

Default rip the lid off

A bear will rip the lid off if he wants the food. When he is done ripping the lid off he will smash your can for fun. Make em work for it.

Question What is the answer to the man's question?

Goaty has a great question. I am also new to bear baiting and have wondered the same question posted by Goaty. How accessible should you make the bait? What kind of berrels to use (55 gallon drums or smaller)? Please give us all some help..........

Default Small

I use small, 7 gallon buckets to 30 gallon plastic barrels. I chain the barrel about 18" off of the ground and have just 2-3 1" holes in the bottom. The bears have to play with the barrel a little and the dog food will fall out.

http://forums.outdoorsdirectory.com/...1&d=1206892496

Vietnam - June 70 - Feb. 72
    Cancer from Agent Orange - Aug. 25th 2012
    Cancer Survivor - Dec. 14th 2012

I use 55 gallon drums from the Wonder bread bakery in Anchorage. They are steel with lids. You can cut any size hole you want. I leave sharp edges to see the hair from the bears so I know if a Brown Bear is hitting the bait frequently so I know that I should not waste much time feeding something I can't shoot. Its been a few years since I bought one so I don't know if Wonder Bread even sells those barrels any more.

My theory is that if I re-bait early in the morning I won't end up with night owl bears eating all the donuts and dog food. Thus I won't have to be out there till dark hoping not to run into a late nighter. Don't know for sure if it makes a difference but makes me feel better.