Thread: Russian River (Coho) Fly

Question Russian River (Coho) Fly

It's such a simple pattern that I'm embarrassed to ask, but I haven't tied a fly in decades and am only now ready to dust off the old vise to give it another try.

Is there an online resource that provides a step-by-step guide to tying a coho fly or at least offers some basic advice?

While it would be much easier to continue stocking up on store bought flies at the price of three for $1, there's a great sense of satisfaction that comes from catching a fish on something crafted with your own hands.

http://www.akflyfishers.com/flyofmonth.html

step by step instructions with photos of many Alaskan flies, from Rich Johnson

He doesn't have anything as simple as a coho, which is usually just a wing of bucktail in 2 colors. Look at "nine-three" or "sockeye fry" as an example of how to tie a wing. I recommend using a sparse wing so the fly sinks quickly.
    LBenz

THANKS for the web link, LBenz! I'm a noob to fly tying and have been messin' around with tying the "Half-Back" but didn't have step-by-step illustrations on how to do it. Another site I use for such steps & illustrations is http://alaskaflyfish.net. They don't show how to make Russian River flies but do have a step-by-step illustration on how to make a 'Flash Fly' that is supposed to be a killer on salmon, especially Silvers. http://www.alaskaflyfish.net/flashfly.htm

Talking Alaska flies

I've been tying flies for ~20 years, and I agree that there is a unique satisfaction that comes from catching a fish on a self-tied fly. I'm a newbie to Alaska, though, and have spent a lot of enjoyable hours this winter restocking my fly selection with Alaska suitable flies.

I second the motion for the fly of the month section from akflyfishers.com the LBenz mentioned. I've learned a lot of new patterns from that website.