Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Moose Hunting tips and tactics

Default Moose Hunting tips and tactics

I recently drew a moose tag in Alaska an am planning my first moose hunt. Because this is my first time hunting moose am am looking for books and/or videos on moose hunting in Alaska. If anyone could recommend some, I would greatly appreciate it.

Love, Thunder and Bull (and vol. 2) is a great moose hunting DVD that will introduce you to basic moose calling techniques. It is often recommended as a must-see for prospective moose hunters.

There are also lots of books and other videos in our store here. Folks may be able to give better suggestions if you tell us how/where you're planning to hunt. If you'll be float hunting, Michael Strahan's new float hunting book would be a great option. If doing a drop hunt, other books would be more appropriate. Moose hunting tactics can vary greatly from place to place.

To add a little more information about our hunt, my brother and I drew permits in DM892, which is north of the Koyukuk Controlled Use Area. We will be hunting the last two weeks of the season (September 15-25) and we are planning a drop hunt. I'm glad you mentioned Love, Thunder and Bull, because I have already purchased this set of DVDs.

Default Love, Thunder & Bull

Good videos. I know I learned a bunch.
    Have fun!
    Most importantly, be sure to deal with Alaska! It's gunna rain. It's gunna be sunny. It's probably going to snow. There'll be wind.
    Prepared for that you're bound to have a great hunt! Heck you might even see a moose!

Have you scheduled your air charter yet? If not I wouldn't wait!