Thread: So, where are the 20 and up Halibut during May?

Default So, where are the 20 and up Halibut during May?

I need to catch a bunch between Seward and Kodiak. Last August, I took a Didson 'underwater camera' sonar out to Prince William Sound and the edge of Portlock Gully to view 150 or so hook attacks by halibut. About a third of those ended up hooked. At the Gully, I could put down a frame with 4 hooks, pull it back up in an hour, and have caught 3 or 4 halibut, and then viewing the video would see that it took 10 or more bites to catch those fish. I am studying the relationship between halibut length and whether a bite ends up with a capture. I had good numbers of halibut between 60 and 90 cm or so (just under 32")...10 to 15 pounds. but I need more observations of larger fish. At the rate of 3 to 4 for a one hour soak.

This year I'm coming up in May, for 12 days, to get more observations on last years 16/0 hook size, as well as a full suite of observations using the smaller 13/0 hooks. I'll probably start back out on the edge of Portlock Gully, but would like some other ideas, and weather holes where I could still conduct the experiment well sheltering from a blow would be nice.

I don't kill the halibut, they are measured and released, reasonably unharmed.

Thanks for any suggestions you might have.

Wow...this sounds very interesting. I wish I had someplace to offer up, but I don't really do any fishing this time of year. Maybe AKCAPT will point you to a few spots.

But, I'd love to see some of the "video"...so if you get it somewhere up on the internet, please post a link.

Same here! Id love to see those videos.

youtube?

Default dvd underwater secrets