Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: primer question

Default primer question

I'm not a novice handloader but not an expert either. I'm planning to work up some new loads for my 7mm Rem Mag and my new Kimber 7mm-08 and found myself wondering about primers.

My question is this: Is there much difference in primers? That is to say will it make noticeable difference whether one uses Fed 215, Rem 9 1/2M, or CCI 250 primers in a magnum rifle load, or Fed 210, Rem 9 1/2, or CCI 200 primers in a large rifle load? Looking through the reloading manuals the primer choice seems fairly random beyond using magnum primers for magnum loads, etc. Am I missing something?

If so, is there some logic, science, or rule of thumb in how to choose a brand of primer for a given case/load?

Is there ever reason to use a magnum primer in a non-magnum cartridge, or vice-versa?

I'm not a competition rifle shooter, but I'm a technical tinkerer and would love to learn more. Thanks in advance!

Markus

There's others more knowledgeable but I can try to answer some from personal experience.
    In my 7mm rem mag, the choice of primer makes a difference. It likes Rem mag rifle primers in the load I use. I tried CCI large rifle primers and the groups opened up. I went back to the Remington primer and the groups improved.
    Magnum rifle primers burn hotter to ignite the bigger magnum powder loads. In some magnum loads you could use a regular rifle primer. Depending on load, your 7mm mag might like it better. Spread a clean newspaper on the ground in front of your muzzle. If there is a lot of unburned powder on the paper after the shot, then a magnum primer might be needed. I wouldn't use a magnum primer in a regular load. Its not needed.

Default Rule of thumb

If it says MAGNUM on the case you should probably use a magnum primer. But be sure your loading manual is in agreement with this rule.
    " Americans will never need the 2nd Amendment, until the government tries to take it away."