Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New to flyfishing

Default New to flyfishing

Hello I'm new to flyfishing, and I'm wondering the technique to use flies in a nymphing technique. Right now My line and leader are a floating type for dry flies, do I need to switch this to a sinking type to nymph. Any help is helpful, and much appreciated.

I'm relatively new to fly fishing myself but what I for nymphs is either add some wet-fly drops to it and/or add a small bb shot to sink it down. Keeping it on a floating line without switching the line or reel. I'm also a newbie at tying flies and adding a bit of lead-thread to assist in sinking it down.

Or use BH nymphs....depending on how fast the water is flowin..

Catchfish
    Attend my seminar if you live in the valley/Anchorage area. Otherwise feel free too PM.
    BHA Member
    Bowyer to the forces of light in the land of the midnight sun.
    The 3 fold way: Every step we take as we walk through life effects, our family, our comunity and ourselves. One should walk thoughtfuly.

Default Fly fishing Alaska - getting started

Nymphing. Tangles. Location. What I remember about getting started fly fishing in Ak - is tangles. Then nymphing and location.

Variations in your cast will help open the casting loop to reduce the number of tangles inevitably caused by the weight needed to get your flies down to the fish. Just go and watch fly fishers on a stream, or drop by Title Wave, or another book store to find a book that helps.