Thread: The difference between IMR and Hodgdon?

Question The difference between IMR and Hodgdon?

This may sound like a dumb question, (I am new at reloading) But what is the difference between the IMR and Hodgdon powders? I have heard numerous opinions, but I still do not have a definitave answer. I am learning that this is the place to get such answers.

Saz

Quote Originally Posted by aknewbie View Post
    This may sound like a dumb question, (I am new at reloading) But what is the difference between the IMR and Hodgdon powders? I have heard numerous opinions, but I still do not have a definitave answer. I am learning that this is the place to get such answers.

Saz

Some powders will have no difference. Some will be the same powder since Hodgdon makes them all and has made some changes. I cannot begin to say which are the same and which are still different because I do not know.

A while back they were all different powders. H4350 is not the same as IMR4350.

The easiest way is to use Hodgdons data. http://data.hodgdon.com/main_menu.asp

As you can see the loads for H110 and IMR296 are identical grain for grain and velocity. Because these are now one and the same.

This article references that H4227 and IMR 4227 will be one and the same. http://findarticles.com/p/articles/m...n16866654/pg_2 Looking at the current load data it looks as though the IMR 4227 was scrapped altogether.

Either way stick to the load manuals and do NOT swap one brand name for the other.
    "You have given out too much reputation in the last 24 hours, try again later".

One thing I have recently learned is that some powders are temp stable and others are not. I personally have decided to go with temp stable powders because my end goal for shooting is hunting and there is a big possible temp range for hunting conditions where I hunt

Hogdon's Extreme powders are temp stable. I dont think IMR has any temp stable powders, not really sure.

Happy Loading

Default Hogden powder