Thread: New to reloading

Default New to reloading

I do a lot of shooting, but with the rapidly rising prices of ammo, I want to get into reloading to try to cut costs, plus it would be a good hobby. Shooting mainly calibers like the 243, 300, 338, and 22-250, would I be able to save much money by reloading rather than buying factory ammo? Also, what would be a good reloader for some one who is just starting out, such as myself? What are some of the main things that I need to get to start out? I am a rookie at reloading so any advice would be helpful.

Welcome Yoge, You've come to a good place to get some tips. I'm just a novice reloader, but I think that most folks here would agree that a Rock Chucker press is a good way to start. As far as costs go, that depends on how much you shoot and what you want to accomplish. Handloading for me has cost a lot more than buying factory ammo, but I don't do all that much shooting so the outlay for equipement and the costs of working up a load are greater than buying factory ammo. The advantage is you can taylor your loads to your wants and needs and you can usually improve accuracy. And also you have the satisfaction of making and shooting your own loads.

Cheers,

Mark

You don't need a heavy press like the Rockchucker. I started with a little RCBS Partner press I bought for $30.00 and reloaded up to .500 A-Square in it. I also loaded .50 BMG bullets into my A-Square brass using that press. I still have it.

All you need are:
    Dial calipers
    Press
    Balance
    Dies
    Shell holder (usually comes with the dies)
    Case mouth chamfering tool
    Reloading manual

That's it. You can get all of this for under $100.00 on eBay.
    Great spirits have always found violent opposition from mediocre minds. The latter cannot understand it when a man does not thoughtlessly submit to hereditary prejudices but honestly and courageously uses his intelligence. Albert Einstein

Better living through chemistry (I'm a chemist)