Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Bow Hunting Certification

Default Bow Hunting Certification

Can anyone help me with a question regarding bowhunting certification...
    I am a resident of SC and wil be bowhunting for Bear in AK in May. I am told I will need to have a nationally recognised bowhunters certification but my great State of SC doesn't offer such a certification before I leave in May...Will the SC Hunters Certification suffice? It is difficult getting the AK DNR to return my calls..Anyone know? Time is of the essence...Thanls in advance!

Default Nope

You need to have an archery course that has a shooting proficiency portion. I have been through this with Kentucky.

You can take the On-line portion of the AK cert. by computer and then do the shooting portion here. One option.

Other is call the http://www.ibo.net/

Or http://www.nbef.org

And see if they have an instructor in your state or states around yours.

Vietnam - June 70 - Feb. 72
    Cancer from Agent Orange - Aug. 25th 2012
    Cancer Survivor - Dec. 14th 2012

Default Thanks Dave....

Spoke with Fish and Game in Cordova today and they are fine without Bow Hunters Certification for 6D region...Thanks for your insight..

Default Cert.

You are probably hunting an area that does not require it. There are only certain hunts that do require the certification. Obviously, 6D my area, I can not think of one hunt that does require it off the top of my head.

If that is the case, you are fine to go.

Default Certification

I took the bow certification class yesterday and passed. Three guys showed up with their on-line test results. They still had to take the written test as well as the profiecency test. Don't bother taking the on-line test. You are just wasting your time and money.

who give the class on this? Is it state or someone that is a cert Instructor?

Sweepint
    Wasilla, (when not overseas)
    '' Livn' The Dream ''
    26' Hewescraft Cuddy, twin 115 Yam