Thread: Tanana & Wood Rivers

Default Tanana & Wood Rivers

I am planning a moose hunt up the Wood River mid-September. I plan to launch at Nenana, run up the Tanana and into the Wood. I have heard that the mouth of the Wood river is wide and shallow with an ill-defined channel. Does anyone have any insights or suggestions before I head up there to scout it next week?

I am running a 20' Anderson Bowrider with a 175 Sportjet. I have quite a bit of lake and ocean experience on prop-driven boats, but I am relatively new to the jet-propelled river running game.

Thanks for your help.

The mouth really isn't that bad. I havn't been up it this year, but plan to come the season.

How far you up are you planning on running?

I'm not really sure how far up we'll go. I have heard you can get as far as the Buttes without much trouble. I guess we'll go as far as we need to fill our tags...

Any suggestions or things to look out for?

Quote Originally Posted by ddeshazo
    Any suggestions or things to look out for?
    Sand bars.. The mouth does offer a challenge for some boats but with yours it should not be a problem. Guys with bigger inboards are the ones that spend days stuck at the mouth. Last year you went in the channel on the left then in about 1/8 mile you crossed straight across to the right but it changes every year so it could be the opposite now. Once you get in past the mouth be sure and keep an eye on the water flow. There are spots where you will be looking around for moose not really paying attention to the river and what looks to be a fine place to drive will only be 1 inch deep but in silt it looks just fine if you are not looking at the flow(don't ask me how I know). Have a good trip and I hope you get a big one. Be sure to at least take along a come-along and a few hundred feet of rope just in-case...