Thread: 96/69er bikes whats the consensus?

Default 96/69er bikes whats the consensus?

Likes or dislikes?

I've never been on one but my trusty hardtail needs a reworking this year and was doing some searching about whats available to update my bike a bit and came across some sites about them. Are there any people that ride these stye of bikes around here?

It sounds like something I might be interested in trying. I have an older cannondale f-series bike from about '98 thats been rode pretty hard over the years and I'm looking at replacing a bunch of components anyway.

Default What are you talking about?

As I have no idea. I'm a noob at mtn bikes but I would have thought I know what that meant but don't?? Fill us in. Thanks!

Quote Originally Posted by Akbrownsfan View Post
    As I have no idea. I'm a noob at mtn bikes but I would have thought I know what that meant but don't?? Fill us in. Thanks!
    There are mountain bikes out on the market now with 29" wheels and some riders are taking these larger wheels and retrofitting? 29" wheels on to bikes originally designed for 26" wheels (typically on the front by swapping in a larger fork) hence the 96/ 69....I'm fairly certain that the first and last number are referring to which wheel is in the front and rear.

Some of the advantages of having a larger tire(s) are you are able to rollover objects in the trail a bit easier and you gain some extra clearance between your bottom bracket and the ground.

there is a bike swap @ trailside elementary (in anchorage) this Saturday I was probably going to browse around looking for parts and pieces and pick a few brains there to see if this would be a costworthy project or if I should shelf my bike and get a newer model.

Aha thank you!! Huh, I have to get my bike repaired anyway....wonder how much a new fork or tire would cost. Now I want to see what you real bike riders say.