Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Boat Puller

Default Boat Puller

I'm working towards putting together a package of a 20 ft Sea Runner and a small cabover camper. I am looking for suggestions on what I should be looking at in a P/U. Diesel or gas engine and how big?
    I plan on fishing Whittier, Seward and Homer.
    Thanks for your thoughts.
    RD

Default 3/4 ton

or 1 ton. Diesel will get you through the pass better and better highway mileage....BUT the original purchase price is more than $4K higher than the same truck with the base engine and the diesel prices are really whacky right now (more than gas).

A few friends have the Ford V-10 and are reasonably happy with them.

For the ramp, automatic transmission and 4 wheel drive.

I have been doing what you propose to do for about 5 years - with a F250 diesel, an old F250 diesel. It seems a little tired going up Turnagain Pass sometimes, but it does quite well going back down.

With the camper on the truck, a F350 would be have been better. A retrofit with a leveling kit might help.

Default nice set up

I run a dodge 2500 crew cab/long bed pwrd by a cummins, 9.5ft Fleetwood/Elkhorn and a 20' SeaRunner soft top. For the most part we fish Homer once or twice and Whittier 8-10 times a year.

I've not done Seward but it's just a personal choice... (don't like the swells)

This set up runs great, decent mileage and fairly comfortable.

Remember the older campers are mostly long bed.

I added rear airbags to the truck, an extra battery to the camper and an aluminum rack above the soft top boat... All additions well worth the money... Oh and I lug a honda 2000w generator for stand alone power (when needed).

Gas vs diesel is a personal preference. This is my second diesel... Don't think I'll ever tow with anything else.

Unless you go bigger than 10' camper or slide outs and such a 3/4 ton should be plenty...

good luck and have fun!